Vastu For Home: Harmonizing Your Living Space Accordin to Vastu Shastra

vastu shastraIntroduction

If you are searching “Vastu Shastra” For Home then your search ends here Vastu Shastra, an ancient Indian architectural science, offers guidelines for designing and organizing living spaces to ensure a harmonious and positive environment. The principles of Vastu Shastra are believed to enhance the flow of positive energy, leading to prosperity, peace, and well-being. Whether you are building a new home or renovating an existing one, adhering to Vastu principles can help create a balanced and conducive living space. In this article, we will explore essential Vastu tips for your home.

1-Location and Orientation

The first step in Vastu Shatra-compliant home design is selecting an auspicious location and orientation for your house. Ideally, the plot should be square or rectangular in shape, and the main entrance should face either the east, north, or northeast direction. These directions are considered auspicious as they allow the morning sunlight to enter the house, bringing in positive energy.

2-Main Entrance

The main entrance is a vital element in Vastu Shastra. It is considered the gateway for energy to enter your home. Ensure that the entrance is well-lit and clutter-free. Avoid placing any obstacles or structures that block the entrance, as it hinders the flow of positive energy. Decorate the entrance with auspicious symbols or Rangoli designs to attract positive vibes.

3-The Five Elements in Astrology

Aspect of Vastu Shastra The foundation of the five elements can be traced back to many ancient cultures, each of which recognized their importance in understanding the fundamental aspects of the universe. In astrology, these elements are not only associated with the physical world but also with emotions, temperament, and energies that impact individuals’ lives.

A- Earth (Prithvi): The element of stability and grounding. Those influenced by Earth are practical, dependable, and have a strong sense of responsibility. They possess a deep connection to the material world and often seek security and structure.

B- Water (Jal): The element of emotions and intuition. People influenced by Water are compassionate, nurturing, and empathetic. They are sensitive and often guided by their feelings and instincts.

C- Fire (Agni): The element of passion and transformation. Individuals associated with Fire are energetic, enthusiastic, and charismatic. They possess a burning desire for growth and can be influential leaders.

D- Air (Vayu): The element of intellect and communication. Those influenced by Air are curious, intellectual, and adaptable. They thrive on social interactions and often have a way with words.

E- Space (Akash): The element that transcends all others. Space represents the vast expanse where the other elements exist. It symbolizes potential, freedom, and the capacity to embrace all possibilities.

5-The Zones of Influence

In astrology, each element corresponds to specific astrological signs and houses, creating distinct zones of influence. Understanding these zones can offer profound insights into an individual’s strengths, challenges, and overall life path.

a. Earth Zone: According to Vastu Shastra Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn are the astrological signs associated with the Earth element. The second, sixth, and tenth houses represent the Earth zone. People with prominent Earth energy in their charts are practical, hardworking, and often find success through diligence and persistence.

b. Water Zone: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces represent the Water element. Vastu Shastra The fourth, eighth, and twelfth houses are the Water zone. Individuals with significant Water energy are emotionally sensitive, intuitive, and often experience profound spiritual growth.

c. Fire Zone: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius belong to the Fire element. The first, fifth, and ninth houses represent the Fire zone. Those with dominant Fire energy are passionate, adventurous, and driven to achieve their goals and dreams.

d. Air Zone: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius represent the Air element. The third, seventh, and eleventh houses fall under the Air zone. People with strong Air energy are intellectually inclined, sociable, and have a knack for building meaningful connections.

e. Space Zone: The Space element transcends individual signs and houses, symbolizing limitless potential and expansion. It represents the unity of all elements and the vastness of the universe.

Balance these elements within your home by arranging rooms and functions accordingly. For instance, the kitchen should ideally be placed in the southeast (fire zone) to enhance the nourishing and positive effects of fire energy.


The bedroom is a crucial space where you spend a significant amount of time resting and rejuvenating. To ensure a peaceful and harmonious atmosphere, follow these Vastu Shatra tips:

  • Place the bed in the southwest corner of the bedroom to promote restful sleep and good health.
  • Avoid placing a mirror in front of the bed, as it is believed to disturb the peace of the mind.
  • Ensure that the head of the bed is positioned towards the east or south direction to align with the Earth’s magnetic field         
    1. Kitchen

    The kitchen is considered the heart of the home, and its Vastu compliance is crucial for the health and prosperity of the household. Here are some guidelines for a Vastu-friendly kitchen:

  • Position the kitchen in the southeast corner of the house.
  • Cook facing the east, as it is believed to bring positive energy and good health.
  • Keep the kitchen clutter-free and well-organized to facilitate the flow of positive energy.
  1. Pooja Room

A pooja room or sacred space is a common feature in Indian homes. To create a spiritually uplifting environment:

  • Place the pooja room in the northeast corner of the house.
  • Keep it clean and clutter-free, dedicating it solely to spiritual activities.
  • Use soft and soothing colors for the walls and decor.


Vastu Shastra provides practical and valuable insights into creating a harmonious living space that promotes well-being, prosperity, and positivity. While adhering to all Vastu guidelines may not always be possible, incorporating some of these principles can still have a positive impact on your home’s energy. Remember that Vastu is not a substitute for practicality and modern architectural considerations, but rather an ancient wisdom that can complement contemporary design principles.

When designing or arranging your home, consider these Vastu tips as a guide to help you create a space that radiates positivity and fosters a sense of balance and harmony for all its occupants.

4 thoughts on “Vastu For Home: Harmonizing Your Living Space Accordin to Vastu Shastra”

  1. Hello I am so happy I found your webpage, I
    really found you by accident, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post
    and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more,
    Please do keep up the great work.

  2. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it wont disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I genuinely believed you would have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of crying about something you could fix if you werent too busy searching for attention.


Leave a Comment